Oban Sportive 2018 - Oban Rotary Club

The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
The Rotary Club of Oban
District 1230
The Rotary Club of Oban
Go to content

Oban Sportive 2018

The Rotary Club of Oban, in partnership with the North Argyll Cycle Club, held their annual Sportive (timed cycle run) on Sunday 22nd April with 139 riders taking part (although 157 entries were received).

The cyclists included Mark Beaumont, the world famous long distance cyclist and Rob Wainwright former Scotland rugby captain.
The event comprises a short route (Kilchrenan) of 56 miles and a long route (Loch Awe) of 87 miles, with both routes also having a timed hill climb. Despite very poor weather conditions, all but a few completed their chosen course with no major mishaps being recorded.

The fastest time for the 56 mile course (3-22-01) was recorded by local man Willie Neilson. Willie also plays shinty for Oban Camanachd.

The fastest time for the 87 mile course (4-35-24) was recorded by Alexander Dent who belongs to the Spokes Racing Team who are based in Fife. Alex is photographed here with his bike. Gavin Blainey,  who was a member of Oban Camanachd's 1996 Scottish Cup winning team, also recorded a very good time for the long route covering the 87 miles in 4-57-45.

Oban Rotary President Tommy McQuade paid tribute to all who helped with the organising and marshalling of the event with a special thank you to the ladies of Inner Wheel who provided baking forthe Feeding Stations.

President Tommy also expressed gratitude for the support the event receives from:
Diageo (Oban Distillery), Dawnfresh Seafoods, The Oban Fish and Chip Shop, The Rusty Cycle Shed, Atlantis Leisure, Bid4Oban, Aggregate Industries, Wild about Argyll and MacQueen Brothers.

The net proceeds from the event go towards supporting local good causes.

Willie Neilson crossing the finishing line
Alexander Dent
© The Rotary Club of Oban. All rights reserved.
Officers 2018 - 2019
President -
Senior Vice -
Junior Vice -
Iain MacIntyre
Douglas Small
Kees van Rein
Secretary -
Treasurer -
David Finlayson
Roger Parry
Back to content